NYS CoRR Platform Message

 NYS Coalition for Rehabilitation and Reentry

Treatment/Transformation
 
A large proportion of incarcerated persons suffer from addiction and  /or  mental health problems. Many others lack social development and could increase their rehabilitation through self knowledge and personal growth programs.
 

    
1. Read, Take Pieces, & Edit the following Message: 
(or write your own)

   According to the National Institute of Justice, without proper treatment between 65 and 70 percent of all untreated parolees with histories of cocaine or heroin use will return to drug use within just three months of release. 

   A recent RAND study indicates that treatment for offenders can be 10 to 15 times more effective in reducing drug-related crime than incarceration.

     According to a National Institute of Justice report, mentally ill, formerly incarcerated persons return quickly to correctional systems in part because those systems lack aftercare planning, and the communities to which they return lack sufficient services to meet their needs. 

I therefore urge you to support the following steps:

  • Expand  alternatives-to-incarceration programs, for both addicted and mentally ill incarcerated persons, throughout New York State.
     
  • Strengthen addiction treatment programs both in-prison and in community centers for post-release follow-up.
     
  • Evaluate and then expand or replicate effective transformative programs  - e.g. the Merle Cooper Program, Rehabilitation Through the Arts, Network, Alternatives to Violence, and Victim/Offender Mediation, at other facilities. Focus future programming on "evidence-based practices."
     
  • Consider converting a correctional facility into an advanced correction center,  for highly motivated incarcerated persons who are seeking addiction recovery and/or self-knowledge and self-improvement.


 Columbia University’s CASA reports that investing in proven treatment for each incarcerated person (coupled with appropriate education, job training and health care) could yield  an annual economic benefit to society of $68,800 in terms of avoided incarceration costs, as well as wages earned and taxes paid by former incarcerated persons.

The NYS Commission on Sentencing Reform, in its October 15, 2007 report, states: "Over the past 30 years, numerous research studies have identified critical components of effective correctional interventions and documented extraordinarily successful programs, which are commonly referred to as "evidence-based practices."

"It is essential that New York's policymakers harness this growing body of knowledge of what works in corrections and infuse our institutional and community programming with scientifically validated, evidence-based practices. This should include adopting the principles of best practices of effective correctional programming as identified in this body of research, including: (1) using intensive intervention for offenders with the highest risk of recidivism; (2) targeting offender needs that are most closely tied to criminality; (3) having a human services orientation; (4) enhancing intrinsic motivation; (5) utilizing "cognitive-behavioral" programming that focuses on attitudes, interpersonal skills, anger management, thinking style, moral reasoning and the link between thought and behavior."

 



 

    2. Send YOUR Message
             to some of the following:

DCJS Director Denise O'Donnell 
                                       infoDCJS@dcjs.state.ny.us
DOCS Commissioner Brian Fischer ...
DOCS Deputy for Programs  John Nuttel
Parole Director George Alexander ...
Parole Exec. Director Felix Rosa ...

Senate: Crime Victims, Crime & Corrections Comm.
  Michael Nozzolio,     nozzolio@senate.state.ny.us
  Dale Volker   volker@senate.state.ny.us
  James Wright  wright@senate.state.ny.us
  George Maziarz    maziarz@senate.state.ny.us
  Eric Adams  eadams@senate.state.ny.us
  Carl Kruger  kruger@senate.state.ny.us
  V. Montgomery   montgome@senate.state.ny.us

Senate Codes Committee
  Dean Skelos  skelos@senate.state.ny.us
  Stephen Saland  saland@senate.state.ny.us
  Serphin Maltese  maltese@senate.state.ny.us
  John DeFrancisco  jdefranc@senate.state.ny.us
  Eric Schneiderman  schneide@senate.state.ny.us
  Thomas Duane    duane@senate.state.ny.us
  John Sampson sampson@senate.state.ny.us

Senate Higher Education Committee
 
Kenneth LaValle    lavalle@senate.state.ny.us
  James Seward  seward@senate.state.ny.us
  Mary Lou Rath  rath@senate.state.ny.us
  John Flanagan  flanagan@senate.state.ny.us
  Toby Ann Stavisky  stavisky@senate.state.ny.us
  Suzi Oppenheimer  oppenhei@senate.state.ny.us

Assembly Corrections Committee
  Jeffrion Aubry  aubryj@assembly.state.ny.us
  Harvey Weisenberg  weisenh@assembly.state.ny.us
  Keith Wright  wrightk@assembly.state.ny.us
  Feliz Ortiz ortizf@assembly.state.ny.us
  Tom O'Mara  omarat@assembly.state.ny.us

Assembly Codes Committee
  Joseph Lentol   lentolj@assembly.state.ny.us
  Robin Schimminger   schimmr@assembly.state.ny.us
  Mark Weprin  weprinm@assembly.state.ny.us 
  James Brennan  brennaj@assembly.state.ny.us
  David Townsend     townsed@assembly.state.ny.us   
     

       


  

       
 
 

 

A summary of all 12 planks can be found at Summary

Please indicate your support of this platform by signing the Petition